Writing Zen
Writing Zen
Writing Dharma
0:00
-4:50

Writing Dharma

The Writing Zen podcast

Welcome to the first episode of Writing Dharma!


In Buddhism, the word dharma has two definitions.

  1. The inherent nature of reality

  2. The teachings that seek to explain that inherent nature.

Both of which are good descriptions of what I have in mind for these podcasts.

Here’s how I see it working…Once or twice a month, I’ll send out a new episode of Writing Dharma covering a particular aspect of writing craft or the writing life. I might talk about how to handle flashbacks, or where in the world to put your backstory. Or, I might have suggestions for how to organize your writing day, or cope with rejection.

Either way, in 5 minutes or less (because we’re all short on time), I’ll try to explain something I’ve learned about the inherent nature of writing.

This first episode is about Writing with Immediacy, and it’s free…just so you can see if Writing Dharma is for you. Subsequent episodes will be sent exclusively to paid subscribers of Writing Zen.

Also, beginning in January, I’ll be hosting monthly, live online Q&A sessions for all paid subscribers. The days and times of these will vary to give as many of you access as possible. And I’ll be sure to record each session and send out a link for watching later.

Finally…because I believe the more you write the better you write, I’m giving all paid subscribers to Writing Zen a free month’s membership (a $40 value) in Creative Caffeine Daily, the online platform that uses prompts and partners to help writers develop a daily writing habit.

Subscriptions to Writing Zen and the Writing Dharma podcast are $7 month, and can be cancelled at any time. (But hopefully, you’ll be getting so much valuable information, you won’t want to.)

The Writing Zen newsletter will continue to be sent to both paid and free subscribers.

See you online soon!

0 Comments
Writing Zen
Writing Zen
A lot about writing, a bit about Zen
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Janis Cooke Newman
Recent Episodes
  Janis Cooke Newman
  Janis Cooke Newman